The 3rd Conference of the Polish Society on Relativity

25-29 September 2016
Kraków, Poland

at Faculty of Physics, Astronomy and Applied Computer Science, Jagiellonian University

Aims and scope

The scientific program covers a broad range of topics from the mathematical structure of General Relativity (GR) and fundamental issues of classical gravity, through to the mathematical models of quantum gravity, gravitational waves and their detection. The goal of the conference is to give an account of the achievements of GR. The theory of GR has been developed in many different directions, all of which will be included in the conference. We will invite experts from the leading world centers of mathematical relativity and gravitational physics who will present the state of art in our knowledge and understanding of the various aspects of the theory of gravity, including:

  • Global structure of space-time
  • Properties of Einstein’s equations and evolution of initial data
  • Methods of deriving and properties of exact solutions
  • Numerical analysis of Einstein’s equations
  • Black holes
  • Cosmology and relativistic astrophysics
  • Detection and analysis of gravitational waves
  • Models of quantum gravity
  • Higher dimensional generalizations of GR

The conference will be divided into two parts:

  • quantum gravity: Monday 26th - Tuesday 27th
  • classical gravity: Wednesday 28th - Thursday 29th

Local Organizing Committee

Jakub Gizbert-Studnicki, Joanna Jałmużna, Jerzy Jurkiewicz, Patryk Mach (chair), Edward Malec, Jakub Mielczarek, Michał Piróg, Sebastian Szybka

Scientific Organizing Committee

Piotr Bizoń, Piotr Jaranowski, Jacek Jezierski, Jerzy Jurkiewicz, Jerzy Kowalski-Glikman, Andrzej Królak, Jerzy Lewandowski, Edward Malec (chair)

List of invited speakers:

  • Jan Ambjørn (Niels Bohr Institute, Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Kristina Giesel (Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany)
  • Luciano Rezzolla (Goethe University of Frankfurt, Germany)
  • Tilman Sauer (University of Mainz, Germany)
  • Michał Artymowski (Jagiellonian University, Kraków, Poland)
  • Iwo Białynicki-Birula (CFT Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland)
  • Andrzej Borowiec (University of Wrocław, Poland)
  • Piotr Chruściel (University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Adam Chudecki (Lodz University of Technology, Poland)
  • Daniel Nathan Coumbe (Niels Bohr Institute, Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Mariusz P. Dąbrowski (University of Szczecin, Poland)
  • Maciej Dunajski (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Michał Eckstein (Jagiellonian University, Kraków, Poland)
  • Janusz Garecki (University of Szczecin, Poland)
  • Jakub Gizbert-Studnicki (Jagiellonian University, Kraków, Poland)
  • Andrzej Görlich (Jagiellonian University, Kraków, Poland)
  • Zbigniew Haba (University of Wrocław, Poland)
  • David Hilditch (Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Germany)
  • Orest Hrycyna (National Centre for Nuclear Research, Warsaw, Poland)
  • Mikołaj Korzyński (CFT Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland)
  • Jerzy Kowalski-Glikman (University of Wroclaw, Poland)
  • Andrzej Krasiński (CAMK Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland)
  • Andrzej Królak (IM Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland)
  • Jerzy Lukierski (University of Wrocław, Poland)
  • Ilkka Mäkinen (University of Warsaw, Poland)
  • Tomasz Miller (Warsaw University of Technology, Poland)
  • Anna Nakonieczna (Maria Curie-Skłodowska University, Lublin, Poland)
  • Łukasz Nakonieczny (University of Warsaw, Poland)
  • Jan Ostrowski (Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń, Poland)
  • Mandar Patil (IM Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland)
  • Włodzimierz Piechocki (National Centre for Nuclear Research, Warsaw)
  • Roman Plyatsko (The National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Lviv, Ukraine)
  • Istvan Racz (Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary)
  • Tomasz Rembiasz (University of Valencia, Spain)
  • Giacomo Rosati (University of Wrocław, Poland)
  • Boudewijn Roukema (Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń, Poland)
  • Pradyumn Kumar Sahoo (Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Pilani, India)
  • Katarzyna Senger (CFT Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland)
  • Olga Sergijenko (Ivan Franko National University of Lviv, Ukraine)
  • Tomasz Smołka (University of Warsaw, Poland)
  • Leszek M. Sokołowski (Jagiellonian University, Kraków, Poland)
  • Adam Szereszewski (University of Warsaw, Poland)
  • Yurii Taistra (The National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Lviv, Ukraine)
  • Tomasz Trześniewski (University of Wrocław, Poland)
  • Piotr Waluk (Polish Academy of Sciences/University of Warsaw, Poland)
  • Naqing Xie (Fudan University, Shanghai, China)